Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

Research

State Policy Dashboard

An explorer for the verified state dataset on K-8 financial education and the North Carolina district evidence. Read-only: every figure is computed from the published data, and every source is linked.

Last reviewed: 2026-10-19

Overview

Coverage
45 of 51 jurisdictions with a confirmed status
Last full source check
October 19, 2026
Excerpts that passed the latest check
99% (510 of 515)

Under-review jurisdictions have no stated status; only the sources found so far are shown. Data version 2026.10.19.5 · October 2026. This dataset describes what state law and standards say. It does not measure student outcomes.

How to read this dashboard
What it contains
One record for each of the 51 jurisdictions (50 states and DC): a status for K-8 financial education, the grades covered, and every source with its exact excerpt, citation, date retrieved and source-check result. It also shows the North Carolina district records audit.
What the statuses mean
Confirmed statuses (requirement before grade 9, requirement with grades not specified, standards only, no K-8 personal-finance standards found) rest on primary sources that were read and re-checked. Under review means the status is not yet confirmed, so none is stated and only the sources found so far are shown; it is not a negative finding. An empty or “not stated” field means the sources do not say, not that the answer is no.
How to use it
Click a count to filter the table, sort by any column, open a row for its sources, and choose up to three jurisdictions to compare. Every view has a shareable address.
Available today
The map, explorer, comparison, source detail, North Carolina district evidence, and the open dataset. The dashboard is public and read-only, and needs no account.
Not yet available
District records outside North Carolina, and any live link between state policy and district implementation, because that evidence has not been collected. The researcher portal is separate and is not part of this dashboard.
  • Requirement before grade 912
  • Requirement, grades not specified6
  • K-8 standards only23
  • No K-8 personal-finance standards found4
  • Under review6

Small jurisdictions

Explorer

All 51 jurisdictions. Filters and sorting work in your browser and are saved in the page address, so a view can be shared.

51 jurisdictions.

Jurisdictions, status, confidence, earliest grade covered, grades covered, last verified date and number of sources
No K-8 personal-finance standards foundMediumGrade 9K2026-10-198
K-8 standards onlyMediumNo requirement foundK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 62026-10-1510
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 91, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-197
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1913
Requirement before grade 9 (from grade 7, offer courses)MediumGrade 77, 82026-10-197
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1813
Requirement, grades not specifiedMediumNot specifiedNone found2026-10-1918
K-8 standards onlyMediumNot confirmedNone found2026-10-1910
K-8 standards onlyMediumNo requirement foundK, 1, 82026-10-159
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 94, 82026-10-199
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 11K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1912
Under reviewNone (under review)Under reviewUnder review2026-10-199
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 52026-10-1512
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 91, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1510
K-8 standards onlyMediumNot confirmed82026-10-196
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)MediumKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1913
K-8 standards onlyMediumNo requirement found4, 82026-10-1922
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1910
Requirement, grades not specifiedHighNot specifiedK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-199
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1911
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)MediumKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1911
K-8 standards onlyMediumNo requirement found1, 22026-10-159
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 91, 42026-10-1913
Under reviewNone (under review)Under reviewUnder review2026-10-1913
Requirement before grade 9 (from grade 6)MediumGrade 66, 7, 82026-10-159
K-8 standards onlyMediumNot confirmed2, 42026-10-1914
No K-8 personal-finance standards foundMediumGrade 9None found2026-10-1912
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)MediumKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-196
Requirement before grade 9 (from grade 3)HighGrade 33, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-156
Requirement, grades not specifiedMediumNot specifiedNone found2026-10-1912
Requirement before grade 9 (from grade 6)HighGrade 66, 7, 82026-10-196
K-8 standards onlyMediumNot confirmedK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1910
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)HighKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1910
Requirement, grades not specifiedMediumNot specified4, 82026-10-195
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-199
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-156
Under reviewNone (under review)Under reviewUnder review2026-10-1911
Requirement, grades not specified (offer courses)MediumNot specifiedK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6-7, 7, 82026-10-1913
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)MediumKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-1915
Under reviewNone (under review)Under reviewUnder review2026-10-198
No K-8 personal-finance standards foundMediumGrade 922026-10-1910
No K-8 personal-finance standards foundMediumGrade 9None found2026-10-1910
Under reviewNone (under review)Under reviewUnder review2026-10-196
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)HighKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-159
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9K, 1, 22026-10-198
K-8 standards onlyMediumNo requirement foundNone found2026-10-159
Requirement before grade 9 (from grade 6)MediumGrade 66, 7, 82026-10-155
K-8 standards onlyMediumGrade 9None found2026-10-1911
Under reviewNone (under review)Under reviewUnder review2026-10-198
Requirement before grade 9 (from kindergarten)MediumKindergartenK, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 82026-10-189
Requirement, grades not specifiedMediumNot specifiedK-2, 3-5, 6-82026-10-199

Select a jurisdiction in the table to read what its sources say.

Compare

Choose up to three jurisdictions. The comparison is saved in the page address.

Choose at least two jurisdictions to compare.

North Carolina district evidence

What 115 North Carolina school districts said when asked, in writing, what K–8 financial education they provide. Replies reviewed through October 11, 2026. Reply text is shown with signatures, phone numbers and email addresses removed. This is a case study of one state, not a national dataset. Read the methodology.

Districts by status (115 total)
  • Confirmed implementing1 (0.9%)
  • Confirmed not implementing23 (20%)
  • Unclear response22 (19.1%)
  • Response in progress3 (2.6%)
  • Awaiting response36 (31.3%)
  • No response after follow-up30 (26.1%)

Bar length is the share of all 115 districts. “No response” and “awaiting” are not evidence about what a district teaches.

The district table loads as you scroll. It is also available on the district tracker.

Quality and change

Data quality

Source-check pass rate
99% (510 of 515 sources); 5 need a manual check
Records held for review
6 of 51 jurisdictions
Corrections logged
1, most recent October 14, 2026

Change history: data releases

Version 2026.10.19.5
October 19, 2026
  • New fields on every jurisdiction in states.csv and states.json: requirement_verb. See the data dictionary.
  • Display label change: the category with data code Requirement before grade 9 is now shown as "Requirement before grade 9" everywhere on the site, with the earliest grade shown next to it. The data code and the public_status value are unchanged.
  • Records whose operative verb is "offer" (districts must offer courses or instruction; CA and OR) are marked "offer courses" (requirement_verb = offer). It does not say every student must receive the instruction.
Version 2026.10.19.4
October 19, 2026
  • Status change, CA: Under review to Requirement before grade 9.
  • Status change, MD: Requirement, grades not specified to Requirement before grade 9.
  • Status change, NE: Requirement, grades not specified to Requirement before grade 9.
  • Status change, SD: Under review to No K-8 personal-finance standards found.
  • New fields on every jurisdiction in states.csv and states.json: requirement_earliest_grade, requirement_grade_range, requirement_grades_basis. See the data dictionary.
  • Corrections to published fields: CA, MD, NE, NM, SD.
  • Sources changed: CA (7 added, 4 removed or reworded); SD (10 added, 6 removed or reworded).
Version 2026.10.19.3
October 19, 2026
  • Status change, CA: No K-8 personal-finance standards found to Under review.
  • Status change, KS: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, LA: Under review to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Status change, MD: Requirement before grade 9 to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Status change, MI: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, MO: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, NE: Requirement before grade 9 to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Status change, NH: Under review to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • New fields on every jurisdiction in states.csv and states.json: requirement_sweep. See the data dictionary.
  • Corrections to published fields: CA, KS, LA, MD, MI, MO, NE, NH.
  • Sources changed: AK (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); AL (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); AR (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); AZ (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); CA (4 added, 5 removed or reworded); CO (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); CT (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); DC (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); DE (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); FL (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); GA (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); HI (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); ID (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); IL (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); IN (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); KS (21 added, 5 removed or reworded); KY (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); LA (9 added, 3 removed or reworded); MA (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); MD (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); ME (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); MI (11 added, 3 removed or reworded); MO (12 added, 4 removed or reworded); MS (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); MT (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); ND (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); NH (12 added, 3 removed or reworded); NM (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); NY (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); OH (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); OK (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); OR (5 added, 0 removed or reworded); PA (6 added, 0 removed or reworded); RI (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); SC (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); TX (2 added, 0 removed or reworded); UT (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); VT (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); WA (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); WI (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); WY (1 added, 0 removed or reworded).
Version 2026.10.19.2
October 19, 2026
  • Status change, AL: K-8 standards only to No K-8 personal-finance standards found.
  • Status change, CA: K-8 standards only to No K-8 personal-finance standards found.
  • Status change, CT: Under review to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Status change, HI: K-8 standards only to Under review.
  • Status change, KS: K-8 standards only to Under review.
  • Status change, MN: K-8 standards only to Under review.
  • Status change, MO: K-8 standards only to Under review.
  • Status change, MT: K-8 standards only to No K-8 personal-finance standards found.
  • Status change, NC: Under review to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Status change, OK: K-8 standards only to Under review.
  • Status change, OR: K-8 standards only to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Status change, RI: K-8 standards only to Under review.
  • Status change, SC: K-8 standards only to No K-8 personal-finance standards found.
  • Status change, WY: Under review to Requirement, grades not specified.
  • Corrections to published fields: AL, CA, CT, HI, KS, MN, MO, MT, NC, OK, OR, RI, SC, WY.
  • Sources changed: AZ (3 added, 3 removed or reworded); CT (16 added, 6 removed or reworded); HI (7 added, 9 removed or reworded); KS (5 added, 8 removed or reworded); MN (4 added, 14 removed or reworded); MO (4 added, 7 removed or reworded); NC (5 added, 3 removed or reworded); OK (4 added, 7 removed or reworded); RI (4 added, 6 removed or reworded); WY (8 added, 5 removed or reworded).
Version 2026.10.19
October 19, 2026
  • Status change, AL: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, AR: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, AZ: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, CA: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, GA: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, HI: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, IA: Under review to Requirement before grade 9.
  • Status change, ME: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, MN: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, MT: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Corrections to published fields: AL, AR, AZ, CA, GA, HI, IA, ME, MN, MO, MT, NJ, NY.
  • Sources changed: AL (7 added, 3 removed or reworded); AR (10 added, 6 removed or reworded); AZ (6 added, 2 removed or reworded); CA (5 added, 0 removed or reworded); CT (4 added, 2 removed or reworded); GA (10 added, 3 removed or reworded); HI (9 added, 3 removed or reworded); IA (13 added, 6 removed or reworded); ME (9 added, 3 removed or reworded); MI (3 added, 2 removed or reworded); MN (14 added, 3 removed or reworded); MT (11 added, 5 removed or reworded); NC (2 added, 2 removed or reworded); SD (1 added, 0 removed or reworded); TN (3 added, 0 removed or reworded); WY (4 added, 2 removed or reworded).
Version 2026.10.18
October 18, 2026
  • Status change, CO: Under review to K-8 standards only.
  • Status change, WI: Under review to Requirement before grade 9.
  • Corrections to published fields: CO, WI.
  • Sources changed: CO (10 added, 5 removed or reworded); WI (8 added, 5 removed or reworded).
Version 2026.10.15
October 15, 2026
  • Initial release: 51 jurisdictions.

Read from the release changelog, which lists states added, status changes and corrections to published fields. CHANGELOG.md

Corrections to district records

October 14, 2026
Hickory City Schools: coded confirmed implementing, changed to unclear or unresponsive. The module is optional inside a Career Explorations elective (about 10 instructional hours) and the reply does not state grades or course status for the SECU program, so it does not establish dedicated instruction.

The full log is on the corrections page. To report an error, see the same page.

How to read this page

  • Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. See the state methodology.
  • “Under review” means the status is not confirmed, so none is stated. It is not a negative finding.
  • A district’s silence is not evidence about what it teaches.

How to cite

Dataset version 2026.10.19.5 (October 19, 2026), licensed CC BY 4.0. Counts above are from this release.

APA

CENTS (Campaign for Early Numeracy, Teaching, and Savings). (2026). State-by-state review of K-8 financial education (Version 2026.10.19.5) [Data set]. https://centscampaign.org/downloads

BibTeX

@misc{cents_state_review,
  author  = {{CENTS (Campaign for Early Numeracy, Teaching, and Savings)}},
  title   = {State-by-state review of K-8 financial education},
  year    = {2026},
  version = {2026.10.19.5},
  url     = {https://centscampaign.org/downloads},
  note    = {Data set, CC BY 4.0}
}

Source: CENTS (Campaign for Early Numeracy, Teaching, and Savings), centscampaign.org, version 2026.10.19.5, retrieved [date].

Download states.csv Download states.json Download sources.csv

See data and downloads for the manifest and checksums, the data dictionary and the license.