Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

Rhode Island

K-8 standards only

Rhode Island's Council endorsed the 2021 National Standards for Personal Financial Education, which set expectations by the end of 4th and 8th grade as well as 12th, but section 16-22-13 requires a consumer education course and graduation proficiency only in high school. The statute does not require K-8 instruction; it asks the department to publish a list of middle and elementary schools that have incorporated consumer education.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades where K-8 content was confirmed
4, 8
Standards document
National Standards for Personal Financial Education (CEE and Jump$tart, 2021), as endorsed by the Council on Elementary and Secondary Education (2021)
Required by law
No
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The standards document hosted by RIDE sets Standards and Learning Outcomes expected by the end of 4th, 8th and 12th grades. No statute or rule read requires teaching them in K-8. Section 16-22-13(k)(2) requires an annual department report listing middle and elementary schools that have incorporated consumer education. RIDE's own financial literacy page (ride.ri.gov/instruction-assessment/financial-literacy) was blocked by a Cloudflare challenge and was not read; the Council's December 2021 endorsement is taken from RIDE's September 2023 guidance PDF, not from a Council resolution. Council regulations (e.g. secondary school regulations) were not reviewed.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Yes
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Graduating class of 2024

Public high schools must offer a course including consumer education aligned with the statewide standards by 2022-2023, and beginning with the class of 2024 all students must demonstrate proficiency by a course, project, assessment, or other council-approved demonstration, at local discretion. The statute does not apply to private schools.

What’s missing for K-8

  • State standards include personal finance in K-8, but the sources reviewed did not show a requirement to teach it.

Pending bills

No pending bills were identified. This is not an exhaustive legislative search.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.