Check out North Carolina, our first state. See the district tracker

State review · Data version 1.0 · October 2026

Maryland

K-8 requirement

Maryland's State Board of Education regulation COMAR 13A.04.06, effective September 2011, requires each local school system to provide a personal financial literacy instructional program at the elementary, middle and high school learning levels, with state standards written in grade bands 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12. Two 2026 bills (HB 943 and SB 592) to create a stand-alone high school course show only a first reading and a scheduled hearing on the legislature's pages.

Statuses come from published law and standards and an automated second check, not a lawyer. Last verified: 2026-10-15. Report a correction

What the law says

Grades K-8

Grades required
elementary levels, middle levels
Standards document
Maryland State Curriculum for Personal Financial Literacy Education (grade bands 3-5, 6-8, 9-12) (2016)
Required by law
Yes
Delivery
Not stated
Assessed
Not determined
Funded
Not determined

The regulation text itself could not be read from an official site; the requirement is read from the Maryland State Department of Education 2022-2023 report and a 2026 Department of Legislative Services fiscal note, which both describe it as covering the elementary and middle school learning levels. The regulation refers to learning levels rather than named grades; the state standards are written in grade bands 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12. A 2026 fiscal note says the State does not currently maintain a discrete statewide curriculum. The MSDE report describes local delivery at elementary and middle levels as integrated into reading, social studies and Family and Consumer Sciences classes. Proposed revised standards that would add kindergarten and grade 1 were reported by a secondary source as open for comment through 2026-10-16; this was not confirmed on an MSDE page.

Grades 9-12

Graduation requirement
Not determined
Course length
Not stated
Effective date
Not stated

The MSDE report states that at the high school level financial literacy is embedded in courses required for graduation or offered as a stand-alone graduation requirement, depending on the local school system. HB 943 and SB 592 (2026) would add a state stand-alone course requirement; they are not law as far as the pages read show.

What’s missing for K-8

  • A K-8 requirement was found (elementary levels, middle levels).

Pending bills

  • HB 943 (2026 Regular Session): State Board of Education - Financial Literacy - Graduation Requirement. Status: In the House, Ways and Means; hearing scheduled 2/25 per bill page (last updated 6/30/2026); no later action listed.
  • SB 592 (2026 Regular Session): State Board of Education - Financial Literacy - Graduation Requirement. Status: In the Senate, Education, Energy, and the Environment; hearing 3/04 per bill page (last updated 6/30/2026); no later action listed.

How to read the status

Status key

K-8 requirement
A statute or rule requires financial education in at least one grade from K to 8.
K-8 standards only
State standards or frameworks include personal finance in K-8, but no mandate to teach it was found.
High school only
A requirement or graduation course exists only in grades 9-12. No K-8 requirement was found.
Study or pilot only
A task force, study, pilot, or unfunded permission exists, without a requirement.
None found
No state-level requirement or standards were found. The searches run are recorded.
Under review
Not yet confirmed. Sources found so far are shown and no status is stated.
Research in progress
This state has not been researched yet.